Aliyah – Everyone Has A Story

Updated! New posts added at the bottom:

I decided to celebrate our 20th aliyah anniversary by posting a roundup of aliyah stories. I did the same thing five years ago, and you can read that roundup here.

I think it is appropriate that the first person to send me a link was Batya – here with her husband for more than forty years.  Rivka explains about some of the miracles in the process of “getting to yes” – how she feels that G-d took away the obstacles to making aliyah for her.

Shimshonit shares with us about how her family would have “the Conversation” at various periods of their marriage – about when would be the right time to make aliyah, and how one dvar Torah pushed them to make their decision. Ruti Mizrachi tells her story in her usual moving way, and for another bonus gives us a rundown on what it is like three years after aliyah.

Baila tells us about how her aliyah journey took a bit of a detour down the aisle….Mrs. S. shares her story too.

Aliyah06 points out that most of us come to Israel at least partly because of the kids – but hers is a very special version. Special needs kids can get what they need in Israel too!

Dovid’s one year aliyah anniversary coincides with our 20th. He writes about how he has changed over the year. Inspiring stuff!

I hope you find these stories as moving as I did!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Baila
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 20:51:55

    Wow. 20 years is really something. Mazal Tov!!!

  2. Baila
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 21:17:41

    Your Shimshonit link is not linked correctly.

  3. rutimizrachi
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 05:21:47

    Thank you for encouraging all of us to produce something new I at least didn’t know we had left to write. 🙂 Mazal tov on 20 years. May you enjoy another 20, and then another, and then another… in good health and happiness, here at Home in Israel.

  4. Hannah @A Mother in Israel
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 06:07:56

    I started my blog for your last aliyah series–5 years ago! I’m enjoying all the entries.

  5. westbankmama
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 08:44:29

    Baila – thank you, and thanks for pointing out my mistake with the link. It is fixed now.

    Ruti – thank you for your good wishes

    Hannah – I didn’t know that! I’m glad that I inspired another great blog!

  6. Batya
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 10:31:08

    Thanks for including me in your Aliyah Stories. Enjoy the truly good life in good health with lots of smachot!

  7. Shimshonit
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 20:00:59

    Thank you for the link, the stories, and mazal tov. May you and your family enjoy many more years in this unique place, and know only joy here.

  8. Mrs. S.
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 20:37:33

    Thanks for including my post, and mazal tov on your aliyah-versary!

  9. Trackback: Living the dream « Shimshonit
  10. Tikva Sasson
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 17:06:55

    Mazal tov! I love aliyah stories.

  11. Trackback: Interesting Links: Special Needs, Epidurals, Breastfeeding, Women’s Prayers, Dog Stoning, Aliyah, Basketball.

Leave a comment