Not Just Computer Chips

Israel is known for its hi-tech innovations, and rightly so. But we also can “innovate” in other areas – one of which is very close to my heart.

Junk food.

I love chocolate, and love even more the combination of salty and sweet. My favorite candy bar is Reese’s peanut butter cups, but  I cannot find them around my area (since I do not live in a predominantly Anglo-Saxon area, the stores do not carry a lot of American products).

So when I saw the new Bamba, with chocolate nougat inside, my first thought was “this could be either really good or completely gross”. I tried it, and I love it.

I just read an article in Ynet about how this product came to be. It turns out that soldiers were putting chocolate spread onto Bamba, and someone came up with the idea of trying to combine Bamba with chocolate. This was such a hit, that the Nestle Company is going to make a new cereal with the same technology, right here in Sderot. (I don’t like the idea of breakfast cereal with this stuff – junk food is supposed to be a snack between healthy meals! On the other hand, anything that helps Sderot’s economy is good in my book).

Jewish brains improving junk food. What a concept.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rickismom
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 22:39:19

    Reeses peanut butter cups is also MT favorite. But I agree-not for cereal! I am waiting for Osem to make something good for cereal, like shredded wheat or chex……

  2. Flying Bubbie
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 01:09:11

    No, it’s worse. When I uprooted my kids and took them to Israel for a year, even they couldn’t stomach white bread and that chocolate spread they put between the slices for lunch.

  3. Jameel @ The Muqata
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 14:43:50

    Well, after Crembo, it was all downhill 🙂

  4. westbankmama
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 15:17:56

    Rikismom – we should have a support group or something….

    Flying Bubbie – what a great name for a blog! I guess my kids are real Israelis since they love chocolate spread (I can’t stand the stuff…)

    Jameel – I agree, Crembos are gross!

Leave a comment