Fish Croquettes for Shabbat

Reading the recipes from the Kosher Cooking Carnival in my previous post inspired me to post a recipe of my own.

When we were first married I spent quite a few Shabbosim at my in-laws house (although not as many as Israeli couples do!). My mother-in-law made a lot of wonderful dishes, but the one I started to make myself was salmon croquettes. These can be made and eaten warm from the pan, or can be refrigerated and eaten on Shabbat as a first course at lunch. When we moved to Israel, and I found it difficult to find canned salmon, I just substituted tuna for the fish (salmon, of course, tastes better – although some kids prefer the tuna anyway!).

400 grams canned salmon

2 eggs

plain bread crumbs or matzo meal

dill weed, other spices to taste

grated onion (optional)

Oil for frying

Drain the water from the canned salmon. Pick out the bones and discard the skin. Mash the salmon, add the eggs and the spices and grated onion, if using. Add bread crumbs until it becomes “pasty”. (I start with about a third of a cup of bread crumbs and go from there). Heat oil in a frying pan, make ovals from the mixture, and fry on both sides until golden. Drain on paper towels.

These are good with tartar sauce or horseradish sauce.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Raizy
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 02:58:49

    They’re also delicious served on top of salad greens.

Leave a comment