A Call For Posts By Olim Chadashim

The war in Gaza is over (for now, at least). Before we turn our attention to the politics of the upcoming elections, I had an idea for a roundup.

Here and there I read posts by olim chadashim (new immigrants to Israel) about their feelings during the war – some expressing their ambivalence about being here in Israel but not really “taking part” in the war.

I want to do a roundup of posts on this topic. Whether or not you have been living here in Israel for three months or thirty years – please send me your posts about how you felt during the last three weeks.

Deadline is February 1st. Please send your posts to westbankmama at fastmail dot com. I don’t have an extensive mailing list, so if you know of someone who may want to take part, please send them an invitation.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EmahS
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 05:10:15

    Here is a post I wrote on Jan. 4….I think it qualifies. And although not ‘fresh off the boat’ olim, we’ve only been here 2 1/2 years.

    http://emahs.blogspot.com/2009/01/situation.html

  2. westbankmama
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 14:21:53

    EmahS – got it, thanks.

  3. Baila
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 15:22:39

    I’m sending mine over. Good idea. I’ll publicize on my blog.

  4. Baila
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 21:59:24

    My e-mail to you got kicked back, so I’m also linking it here:

    http://illcallbaila.blogspot.com/2009/01/its-my-first-war-and-ill-cry-if-i-want.html

  5. rutimizrachi
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 13:43:41

    Thank you for your kind comment. I would like to offer it for your round-up. http://rutimizrachi.blogspot.com/2009/01/post-gaza-new-immigrant-moms.html
    OU.org asks for a mention, as they also published it:

    http://www.ou.org/shabbat_shalom/article/hes_coming_home/

    Thank you for collecting the writing of olim chadashim on this subject. And Gil says the J-Bloggosphere isn’t a community… 😉

    (I also tried the discreet email method, as did Baila, but was kicked back.)

  6. Lady-Light
    Feb 01, 2009 @ 17:38:20

    I don’t know whether or not my kids and I qualify for this roundup: we currently do not live in Israel, but four of our kids do, three of whom who made aliyah (the fourth is in her last year of college in Hertzliyah). Our two sons were in the IDF, the younger one becoming a tank crew commander. Currently our youngest child is a lochemet, a chayelet bodedah, in the Engineering Corps. I will email you.

  7. Lady-Light
    Feb 01, 2009 @ 19:22:01

    Tried emailing you but it was bounced back. Here is the link to my post. I only found out about your roundup today; hope it’s not too late- http://lady-light.blogspot.com/2009/02/my-kids-in-idf-and-thoughts-on-war.html

Leave a comment