A Little Bit of Good News for Chanukah

I just came across this article in Ynetnews.com about a recent study showing that Israeli society is becoming less secular and more traditional.

I can’t vouch for the veracity of the statistics, of course, but I can add a few personal anecdotes from my years living in Israel.

We lived with my brother in Maaleh Adumim during the first few weeks after making aliyah, until our apartment at the absorption center was ready. I needed to go to the mikvah (ritual bath) one evening, and I went early – so early that the place was closed and I needed to wait for the mikvah attendant to show up. As I was waiting a few women showed up, dressed in shorts and sleeveless tops. At first I thought that I had the wrong address. In America only Orthodox women used the mikva, so I was not used to seeing women who didn’t dress the way I did. I then learned that many outwardly appearing secular women kept the laws of taharat hamishpacha (“family purity”), and were in essence traditional and not secular.

Our ulpan teacher related a story about her son. He served in the army with hesdernikim (those that combine army service with yeshiva learning), and one time the hesdernikim would not eat the food on Shabbat because it was prepared by a Jew on the Sabbath itself. They basically fasted the whole day. He was so impressed with their keeping this halacha (religious law), that he decided to observe one himself. He decided to wait to eat dairy foods after eating meat (there are many different traditions here, but most wait either three or 5-6 hours). My ulpan teacher was absolutely shocked. She claimed that she came from a long line of secular Jews, who did not follow any of the laws or traditions, and she joked that her son would now be the “black sheep in the family”.

It seems that the younger generation does not feel the need to hold on to their secularism religiously (pun intended).

I personally find this encouraging. I don’t expect Israeli society to become observant, but I think it will be a positive thing for more people to have respect for both halacha and traditions. It can only help to mend the rifts in our society.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BA
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 14:10:30

    I know this was not the point of your story, but I really want to say that the Hesder system is not only a positive thing for those boys; giving them the opportunity to learn as well as serve in the army, it is also enormously positive for the secular Israelis in the army. To many secular Israelis religious means charedi, which means crazy fanatic. The hesder boys let many secular guys know that you can be religious, or even just more traditional and not be crazy.

    I know I am not saying anything new, but sometimes I feel we have to actively acknowledge and appreciate it.

  2. Batya
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 10:42:31

    I love it when I can ask a salesman what part of something has to be tovelled. It’s part of the service in a number of stores here.

  3. aliyah06
    Dec 10, 2007 @ 17:10:50

    Its NOT my imagination, then……granted, we live in Jerusalem, but areas that used to be largely secular are now dati leumi, and the dati leumi/masorti areas seem to be going black hat in places…..I’m seeing charedim for the first time ever in Baka these days….The good news is that Judaism is alive and well….the Other News is that we have to work on getting along with each other and not quarreling amongst ourselves…but hey! That issue has been around longer than Who Is A Jew, right?

Leave a comment