So Far So Good

So far I am really enjoying my new job. It is a new experience for me to be working in an environment where I am the only religious woman (there are quite a few religious men for some reason, but not women). In a way I think it will “keep me on my toes” a bit. I always try to dress modestly, but now I am more careful in how I dress – since I am “the example”.

I am also the only one who lives in Yehuda and Shomron. Most of the people who heard where I live took it in stride, but one woman exclaimed (in horror? pained surprise?) “how do you get in every morning?” This is a frequent misconception about the Shomron made by people who live on the coast – that we are unbelievably far away.

I answered her honestly (and with a smile) that I take the car to the train station in Petach Tikvah and then the train – altogether it is a 50 minute commute. I had this devilish wish to pull her leg though…saying something along the lines of “well, first I round up the huskies and hook them up to the bobsled, then I …..”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shilohmuse
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 20:19:16

    Your post is included in Shiloh Musings: HH #403 The Cyber-Threat Edition.  Please visit, check out the other blogs, comment, share and join the community of jbloggers if you haven’t already.

  2. shimonafromthepalace
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:56:14

    It’s not only the residents of the coast who think that Yehuda and Shomron are “unbelievably far away”, alas. Perhaps, if people really understood just how close Tel Aviv is to “the West Bank” (in this case, to Ramallah, Jenin, Tulkarm etc.), they would be more understanding of the absolute danger involved in the idea of Israel giving up any part of Erettz Yisrael.

Leave a Reply

