Now, That’s Strange

I was reading an article in the Jerusalem Post about Iran’s Achmadinegad threatening Israel (again) in honor of Ramadan. and I did a double-take. I had no idea that this month was Ramadan.

Usually we hear the meuzin calling at all hours of the day (and night) from the nearby mosques during this month. I especially notice the one around 4:00 am, since I sometimes have trouble falling asleep afterwards. Not this year. So far I haven’t heard it once (and we don’t sleep with the air conditioner on, no matter how hot, so I would hear it).

Did someone pass a law forbidding the loudspeakers? I recall that Avigdor Leiberman proposed something in the Knesset.

In any case, I am not complaining. I think it would be very symbolic though, if Israel finally attacks Iran during this month . This timing would beĀ convenient for Israel, as most children are out of school now, and if there is retaliation by our neighbors and rockets are fired, then the kids will be the responsibility of the parents, and they won’t be grouped in one place. Obviously Israel can and will cancel school due to the security situation if it is warranted, but during August it would be easier all around.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shilohmuse
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 06:30:29

    I hadn’t realized it either, not that I hear the noise, but I’ve been away.

  2. gloriousforest
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 15:44:00

    I think I recall that the law did not pass, though Bibi did support it.

Leave a Reply

