Instincts Kick In

There is a response team in our community that is in charge of handling trauma. This means that if G-d forbid someone is hurt or killed in an accident or by a terrorist attack, this team,( consisting of the Rabbi, social worker, security chief and other personnel) springs into action to take care of the family involved. Unfortunately this has happened a number of times where I live.

You can imagine, then, what I felt when seeing a group of cars including the security truck and the social worker’s car parked in front of my house, as I was coming back from the grocery store.

Instinct kicked in and I sent up a fervent prayer that nothing had happened to my family. 100% selfish – please G-d, take care of me and mine.

It turns out that a little boy had run into the street in front of our house and had fallen. The social worker happened to be driving in the street at the time, so she parked in our driveway and went to help him. She of course called the Magen David Adom ambulance and that brought the security truck. (Thank G-d the boy is ok).

I know I should feel guilty at my relief that it wasn’t about my husband and kids – but I don’t. During my morning prayers, in the place where you can put in your own personal requests, the first thing on my list is “please keep my family healthy and safe”. I have a nice laundry list after that, including prayers for others, including children for couples who have not been blessed yet. But the main blessing that I seek is the basic one, and this desire is hard-wired into my female soul.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 17:38:36

    I’m glad your family is okay.

    As a religious Jew, it’s too bad that your first reaction upon seeing the car was to say a prayer that is prohibited in Judaism. We are not allowed to saw futile prayers, and it is futile to pray to God that something in the past didn’t happen, since God doesn’t change the past. There is actually a story about this, in which a man returning to his village sees a fire in his home town in the distance, and is prohibited from saying, “God, please don’t let it be my house that is on fire,” for the same reason that your prayer asking that nothing had happened to your family is forbidden.

    Of course, praying that nothing bad happens to your family in the future is fine.

    May you and your family stay safe and live to 120.

  2. shilohmuse
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 04:53:33

    I can imagine…
    Shabbat Shalom

  3. Jack
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 02:23:24

    Hello everyone. Just stopping by to invite you to my web site… if you visit and like it please consider linking the site. Thanks – thestarofkaduri.com

Leave a Reply

