Joy

Where will you be next Sunday and what will you be doing? I don’t know what I will be doing, but I do know what my sons and thousands of others like them will be doing – dancing in joy.

Next week is Yom Yerushalayim (Jerusalem Day) – the 45th anniversary of when the IDF liberated divided Jerusalem and Jews could approach the holiest site in the world – the Kotel (the Western Wall) and Har HaBayit (the Temple Mount). Since then the Jews have been celebrating this day. I remember when I was a student here (back in 1982) I danced with the yeshiva students from Mercaz HaRav (the Rav Kook yeshiva) all the way from Kiryat Moshe to the Kotel.

Looking at the video from last year I get goosebumps, especially at the long shots of the huge crowds of dancers, with the circles in the middle. These pictures resemble those of the Israelis dancing on the eve of Yom HaAtzmaut (Israeli Independence Day). For some segments of society this joy might seem corny, but for those of us who are Dati-Leumi (national religious) it is real and uplifting.

Enjoy:

Leave a Reply

