Chanukah Stories

I love Chanukah. It is my favorite holiday of the year. I love the ritual of the lighting and the symbolism of light versus darkness. I love the fact that the family gets together in the evenings in the dark of winter and we spend time together (this is why I love the winter Shabbosim more than the summer ones – Friday night is long). I love the food – who doesn’t like latkes (fried potatoe pancakes) or sufganiyot (jelly doughnuts), especially as part of a dairy meal?

I also love stories about miracles. Aish.com has a very touching one here, about faith in a very dark time. For some historical background, read here. And thanks to Aish for explaining the latest craze in America.

Leave a Reply

