A Question For My Israeli Readers

I am coming up on a big birthday, and I have thought a lot about buying myself a Kindle reader. As much as I enjoy reading “real” books, I find that finding specific books here in Israel can be difficult at times. (Especially since I love mystery series, and I usually like to read them in order. I come across a new author, and I can’t always find the books they wrote in the 80’s or 90’s – just their latest. Very frustrating). I thought that a Kindle would be a way to purchase books for less money and I would be able to always download what I wanted.

My question is this: Since I don’t have wireless, will I still be able to purchase and download books onto my Kindle? Does it make a difference if I live in the Shomron?

Any help would be appreciated.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Batya
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 05:11:28

    You won’t be able to read on Shabbat, share your books etc. Each purchase is a one-time deal if I’m not mistaken. I just don’t like that “kindle” mentality.

  2. yogi
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 15:36:45

    I don’t have a reader, just a PC, so I have no experience in this field, but this is what i have heard:

    Kindle uses a proprietary format for its files. I think this means that you may not be able to read them on other readers or computers without some hassle, and perhaps this will also limit your ability to share the books you buy. Also, since your Kindle is always connected to Amazon , they have the ability to change or even erase your purchases – which they have already done in several cases. You are basically renting the books, not buying them.

    There are probably other, less restrictive readers than Kindle. Actually, come to think of it, every tablet is also a reader. Why do you need a Kindle?

  3. Baila
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 19:44:20

    I have two friends, avid readers both, who have Kindles. You can share between Kindles, albeit for a limited time, I think two weeks. I’ve read that the Nook is a bit more user and share-friendly, so you might want to look into that one as well. I think e-books are the wave of the future–actually the future is here. I read somewhere that e-book sales have recently surpassed paper-book sales.

    In the future, someone will find a way for us to read e-books on Shabbat. I got this link from Risa Zohar. The last paragraph talks about, how in theory it could be done. Not comfortable, but our grandchildren will probably find it much more expensive to buy paper books than e-books. Here’s the link: http://torahmusings.com/2010/12/e-readers-and-shabbos/

  4. ProphetJoe
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 04:06:14

    Ok, WBM, I’m not an Israeli and I don’t have a Kindle, but I would like to add my 2 cents worth (and that’s probably all it’s worth!). I researched the Kindle when my wife wanted one and we decided to go with the color Nook. It is more expensive than the Kindle, but I have 1 friend who’s been through 2 Kindles because the screen failed (one was under warranty and the other was not). My wife loves the Nook and she can surf the web using the built-in browser, but we have wireless so that’s easy in our case.

    The question I have is this: do you want the device to do other things? If you want to surf or text I’d recommend a tablet. If you get something like the Xoom or the Samsung tablet, you can get it with telephone access so you don’t need a wi-fi connection. Or course, you pay more for the tablet and you do have a monthly cell bill.

    PJ

    P.S.- most smart devices such a tablets, iPads, iPods, and Androids phones can download and use the Nook e-reader software or one of its competitors (Aldiko makes a fine e-reader which is free on the Android Market). The problem is reading on a small telephone screen… 🙂

Leave a Reply

