What He Said…

Yesterday, after reading the news, I thought my head would explode. I haven’t been worked up by the insanity of the Israeli judicial system for a long time, but the arrest of Rav Lior just put me over the edge. I thought I would write a post, but I couldn’t articulate anything (I didn’t think writing a post with “that’s outrageous” over and over again would qualify).

Then today as I was catching up on my favorite blogs, I came across this Youtube site, recommended by Batya at Shilomusings. The following video just about sums it up for me too…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shimshonit
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 09:54:40

    A few months ago, Jerusalem Post editor David Horovitz interviewed Asa Kasher, the IDF’s ethics adviser. In the course of this interview, Kasher stated that if “non-dangerous” people are in close proximity to terrorists actively firing on Israel, and those non-dangerous people have been given fair warning to remove themselves and haven’t done so (either by choice or by force), then the IDF is within its rights to disregard their safety in order to neutralize the threat from the terrorists. If the story of Rav Lior’s arrest is accurate, Rav Lior has done no more than endorse the same message put out by Prof. Kasher. These are dark times, indeed, if this is the government’s response to the exercise of freedom of thought and speech, and a reasonable attempt to deliberate on the difficult situations in which Israelis find themselves.

  2. gloriousforest
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 13:37:04

    National Union chairman MK Yaakov Katz was outraged. “Never has a man of his stature been arrested,” – on ynet
    It seems the beef is about his stature. No person should be above the law ever. I would (and do) demand the arrest of Muslim leaders who say the kuffar should/can be killed, I therefore hold Rav Lior to the same standards. Men of God are not above the law.

  3. ahad ha'amoratsim
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 00:51:59

    I tried to view the You Tube but got an error message that the video had been removed for violating You Tube’s terms of service. I can only guess at what terms those might be.

    Just as shocking as the arrest of Rabbi Lior has been the wholesale misrepresentation of Torat Hamelekh and the attempt to smear both the author of that work and those who like Rabbi Lior have written endorsements.

Leave a Reply

