Blissfully Oblivious

I mentioned in an email to someone in America that we scheduled something for this coming Sunday, December 26th. He wrote back “Isru Chag?” (For those of you who do not know, the day after the last day of Passover and Sukkot is called “isru chag”. Don’t ask me why though…)

At first I did a double-take, and then I got the joke.

Today I received an email, again from the States, where someone wished me “Happy holidays” (I thought the person was Jewish but now I am not sure). I laughed out loud at work and had to explain why.

It makes me extremely happy to know that December 25th is just another day in our calendar here in Israel. When my kids were little they saw a picture of Santa Claus once and asked me who that Rabbi was, and why he was wearing a red suit. I smiled for a week.

Only in Israel can we be blissfully oblivious.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Batya
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 07:24:20

    We’re in Israel 40 years and until pretty recently, the only xmas decorations were in chareidi succot.
    Now, on a yishuv we can ignore them but not in the city.

Leave a Reply

