Under Threat Again

I can’t count the number of times in the past twenty years that I have wished that the Prime Minister of Israel would tell the President of the United States to just mind his own business. Every time the “leader of the free world” needs a good photo op, he badgers the people in the middle east to “try one more time, with feeling” to negotiate a peace deal.

Every time it fails, and every time Jews are put in danger. This time is no different. The head of the Shabak now says publicly that with the continuation of peace talks the quiet in Israel is over, and the terrorists will try very hard to successfully attack Israelis.

Just this afternoon, as I was tremping (hitchiking) home, I came to the last leg of my journey and waited for someone to stop. In the past month I have waited there with Arabs three times. This time when I arrived at this point there was an IDF jeep – which was a nice surprise. Then one of the soldiers got out of the jeep and told me to be careful who I get into the car with (I only go into cars with people from my yishuv that I recognize) and that there had been an incident just a little while before this about a two-minute drive away. It turns out that a woman had been “carjacked” (is this a word?). This is the third time in our area where an Arab has forced his way into a car and stolen it.

Anyone know where I can buy pepper spray?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. neshama
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 17:50:30

    Why don’t you make your own “defense spray”!!
    Get a spray bottle, fill it with bleach and hot liquid red pepper.
    And just let them have it when they get too close for comfort!

    I felt the trepidation in your words.

  2. Batya
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 20:17:07

    I would be careful with the homemade variety. Don’t combine ingredients without checking.

  3. WrathofG-d
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 22:41:28

    Achoti,

    http://www.midwayusa.com/browse/BrowseProducts.aspx?tabId=5&categoryId=20939&categoryString=20946***20693***

    Enjoy!

    If for some reason you still don’t have any in a couple of months, (or midway won’t send to Israel) I can bring/send you some.

  4. Shimshonit
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 11:25:44

    It’s also worth taking a self defense class like that offered through El Halev in Jerusalem. (They also teach in Tel Aviv and Rehovot.)

    I would find it particularly refreshing if the US and the rest of the world could see that the REAL enemy now is not the no-longer-relevant head of Fatah (Abbas) but Ahmedinejad and all of his Iran-sponsored terrorist minions. Sigh. Denial by the rest of the world of this simple fact (as well as that the Arabs as a group do not seem ready or interested in peace) is so tiresome.

  5. z8
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 10:09:00

    You mean “terrorists” or fighters against the occupation?

Leave a Reply

