My Favorite Holiday is Coming Up

I love Chanukah. I love the fact that it is a week long, so there is enough time to enjoy it with both my nuclear family and my extended one.  I love the cozy feeling of being inside and enjoying good food while it is dark and rainy outside, while the lights of the chanukiah (menorah) dance. We follow the custom that everyone lights their own chanukiah. The men in the family light with olive oil, but I still enjoy lighting candles, and I take a childish pleasure in picking out which colors I will use each night. I love the symbolism of both a victory for the underdog and for the faith of those who lit the menorah despite the worry that there wouldn’t be enough oil.

The food is great also. My first Chanukah love is of course potatoe latkes (livivot in Hebrew). But I have been persuaded to indulge in sufganiyot (jelly doughnuts). My favorite flavor is ribat chalav (dulce la leche).  Just five more days….

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Phuket Hotels
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 05:23:07

    what is menorah dance

  2. aliyah06
    Dec 12, 2009 @ 22:29:20

    I ate toooooooo much…….but it was sooooooo good….Josh managed to put away 4 sufganiot in one day. I could hardly eat one!

  3. westbankmama
    Dec 13, 2009 @ 05:37:40

    aliyah – believe it or not, I haven’t indulged yet. Tonight will be sufganiyot (Sunday night!)

  4. Shimshonit
    Dec 13, 2009 @ 15:44:42

    Ribat chalav is my favorite too. But I don’t make latkes with just potatoes anymore–mine have grated potato, sweet potato, carrot, zucchini, onion and garlic in them. Not traditional, but we think they’re tastier that way. Sour cream is just gilding the lily on those. Chag Chanukah sameach!

Leave a Reply

