The Simple Joys of Mechanical Appliances

Our new dryer has been delivered and installed. Yesterday westbankpapa worked from home so that he could receive the dryer that we purchased about two weeks ago. He was then informed that we needed to wait for a technician to install it, otherwise we would not be eligible for the warranty.

When I heard this news I asked him to call the service people right away to make an appointment. Technicians from the major companies only come out to us in the Shomron on a rare basis, so I knew that I could possibly have a wait of up to a month. We were in luck – the service guy would be in Shomron the next day!

So today I waited at home (they said that he would be here in the morning – “up to 12:00”. He showed up at 1:30 pm.) The whole thing was a bit frustrating since all he did was to take off the packaging, attach the “exhaust hose” (what do you really call that tube where the steam comes out?) and plug the thing in. I am not a mechanically inclined person, but I COULD HAVE DONE THE SAME THING – and without missing a day of work!

Anyway, I have nice, clean, dry clothes for my children, even on a stormy day like today (G-d willing we will have many more, until the Kinneret is full).

Baruch Hashem!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Risa
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 17:59:16

    Mazal Tov!

  2. Lindsay
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 23:31:54

    Wonderful! Our dryer takes 2 runs before the clothing is dry…annoying! Wondering what the temperatures are like right now as to what to pack for our trip….sweaters? shoes? tights? coming frmo Canada I’m sure it will be warmer then here but I don’t know….

    Thanks!

  3. neshama
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 00:49:10

    Ah, the smell of clean clothes from the dryer is …….. a bit of heaven.
    I love the smell of clean clothes, it’s ethereal. Like the smell of erev Shabbos as you go to light the Shabbos licht (I use olive oil). The house is in order, the smells are spiritually uplifting. Maybe we can sort of understand when Hashem smells (as if) a korban olah and is pleased.

  4. Shimshonit
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 15:53:45

    Titchadshu. Since buying a home and new appliances for said home, my husband and I have grown accustomed to having to make those silly calls for service personnel to do what we could easily do. But to lose the warranty benefits would be too big a hassle, so we grin and bear it. Enjoy warm, dry clothing now that winter is here.

Leave a Reply

