…Speaking of Friendships

I work four days a week. I usually debate with myself about what to do with my day off – because sometimes I just need to stay home and catch up on the laundry, cleaning, etc., and sometimes I feel that I should be doing something fun.

Today was one of those days off – and I decided I would go to Jerusalem. I haven’t been to the Kotel for a very long time, and I haven’t been to a Jewish bookstore even longer. I said my daily Tehillim at the Kotel this morning , looking up every once in a while to see the various tourist groups. In the short time I was there a group from America, France, and India came and went (judging by their accents, language, and dress, respectively).

I bought myself a Koren siddur – all in Hebrew this time. The Artscroll siddur that I have been using for the past twenty-five years has finally started to come apart, so I knew that I needed a new one. I like the Koren siddur in both Hebrew and English, but I wanted the large format (the letters in the pocket sized one are a bit too small for me) and it seemed a bit heavy to hold in my hand. So I decided I could “graduate” to an all Hebrew siddur, which is much lighter. I don’t know why I hesitated, I daven from an all Hebrew siddur every Shabbat and I have no trouble finding my way around.

The best part of the day was going out to lunch with Aliyah06 – aka Baka Diary. (I can’t remember if she uses her real name on the blog at all, so I am playing it safe here).

With my kids growing up, I have decided that I finally have more time for female friendships, and I am making an effort to cultivate them.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rutimizrachi
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 05:50:37

    My life back in the Alte Heimland was full of work and housework, organizing way too much gashmiut, and coming up with the money to pay the kids’ yeshiva tuition. Now they are older, fairly independent, the schools cost less, and we have considerably less junk to manage. So I, too, am making time to see the sites and pursue friendships. After all, we didn’t make aliyah to sit in a cubicle 24/6!

    Looking forward to another lunch date — before then next J-Bloggers’ Whatever. 😉

  2. aliyah06
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 20:23:48

    …and I promised to drive us both up to Westbankmama’s house to meet her on her home turf! We have to make a date!

  3. Trackback: …Speaking of Friendships | JewPI

Leave a Reply

