Why Do They Call It A Cold?

I am home today with a headcold – although I can’t figure out why they call it that. I don’t have a fever, but even so, my head is stuffy and I am going through tissues at an alarming rate. I must have picked up a virus during all of the visiting we did on Chol HaMoed.

It is much easier being sick when your kids are older – you just rest when you need to and let them fend for themselves. They even treat you nicely and do errands without complaining.

Luckily my brother gave me a bunch of books to read, so I am well stocked. He is into the science fiction/fantasy stuff, so I have been introduced to Robin Hobb. I started with her last trilogy – Soldier Son – and so far I like it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rutimizrachi
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 11:41:33

    You have my empathy, dear friend, as I seem to have brought home a similar “gift” from all of our outings. Up at four in the morning to gargle with salt water, so the coated throat stops aching long enough to catch an hour or two of real sleep; red nostrils and chafed upper lip; keeping Mister Kleenex in business. Yecch. Refua shelaima to us both. (Ah, sob sisters, unite!)

  2. ilanadavita
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 20:05:34

    Hope you get better soon. Enjoy your books!

  3. neshama
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 00:56:31

    Refuah Shleima. The same thing attacked me: I call it the Chol HaMoed Happening. I must have picked it up at one of those “Frum Videos” that all of BP goes to every night during Chol HaMoed. Well it rendered me horizontal from Hoshana Rabba thru Simchat Torah and I’m still home, now in the coughing stage. I actually caught it from a stuffy, lack of air, basement auditorium, while viewing a very funny video. BTW also two 1/2 nights of very little sleep, tissues galore, and lethargy met by ‘sad concerned looks’ from my husband.

    Each year, they bring in several videos, and usually there is an one exceptional one. This year, and I recommend it highly if it can be obtained, is called “Pages in the Wind”. It was about a Jewish baby found and raised by a Polish young woman, and when a young war returnee returns to the same Polish village, comes across this baby now a little girl, and decides to ‘steal’ her to return her to her people, and the ensuing story unfurls.

    But the video actually opens with a young mother bringing her baby to the Rabbi as a Pidyon HaBen when a mysterious woman enters the Shul, and sends a note to the Rabbi … and the entire ceremony ends. Of course the mystery is solved by the end of the video.

    It turns out that this story is compiled from true events and plays itself out in Eretz Yisrael, with the grown up baby and the war returnee living in Israel.

Leave a Reply

