Music to My Ears

Before I became an observant Jew, I viewed religion as something that belonged in the synagogue, but not in everyday life. Discovering that Jewish law pertained to every aspect of my life was beautiful, but admitadly somewhat overwhelming at first.  At some point I got used to it, and realized that I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Coming to Israel for the first time and seeing how Yiddishkeit permeated all of life here made the decision to make aliyah much more compelling. I still find it wonderful – and the little things can make my day.

This morning I went outside to hang up my laundry, and I heard the shofar (rams horn) blow. At first I thought that one of the minyanim (prayers with a quoram of ten men) had ended, where throughout the Hebrew month of Elul the services end with a shofar blast, but I quickly rejected that idea. The timing wasn’t right.

Then I realized that it was my neighbor.  He blows the shofar every year on Rosh HaShana (and does a great job!) and was getting in some practice time before going to his hi-tech job.

What a lovely way to start my day!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Batya from Shiloh
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 19:39:58

    Shofar blowing, so nice to hear through open windows.

  2. aliyah06
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 14:38:41

    And tomorrow will be a full day of getting ready for the Chag, and preparing the home, the meals and doing the last-minute shopping, and calling people, and in the midst of all of this happy and chaotic rush, I did not want to forget the OTHER important date—so let me wish you HAPPY BIRTHDAY now, just a bit in advance, in case I never get to the computer tomorrow!

    L’shana tova!

  3. westbankmama
    Sep 21, 2009 @ 15:33:23

    aliyah – thanks so much for your good wishes! I usually celebrate my birthday on the Hebrew date, which is coming up on Thursday, but it is nice to get an early greeting too…

Leave a Reply

