Nearing the Finish Line…

My crazy season at work is almost over. I hope to finish up the middle of next week, and then take some much deserved time off.

I am dreaming of getting myself a thick book and some chocolate and spending a day consuming both.

Any recommendations? (I love mysteries and good historical fiction…..)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. soccer dad
    Jun 25, 2009 @ 20:17:57

    Not a book, but a trilogy.

    Not historical fiction, unless you believe that Gladstone was the greatest magician of the past few centuries.

    I just finished the Bartimaieus trilogy. It’s about a young English magician who comes of age. But it’s different from Harry Potter in a number of ways.

    1) Magicians in Bartimaieus rule over “commoners.”

    2) They are almost exclusively vain and self-centered. While capable of some pretty bad stuff, none are really as thoroughly evil as Voldemort.

    3) Halachically this is a bit more problematic than Harry Potter. Harry Potter the magic is a natural ability. In the Bartimaieus trilogy magic is deployed through demons (marid, afrits, djinn, imps etc.) And the Maharal is reduced to the great magician Loew.

    Still it’s a lot of fun even if this world is darker than the world of Hogwarts.

  2. Leora
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 08:26:23

    My son recommended the Bartimaieus trilogy a few years ago. I read them, but I wasn’t as enamored by them as Soccer Dad was.

    If you can get hold of any of the new American Girl doll books, the ones with Rebecca Rubin that just came out, now those are great historical fiction. Of course, it will take you about twenty minutes to read the whole book. A friend lent us one (after she succumbed and bought her daughter the doll).

    I just finished Agnon’s Only Yesterday. I greatly enjoyed it, despite the sad ending. All his short stories seem to be on the sad side, too. I was fascinated by the contrasts between and descriptions of Jaffa and Jerusalem life in pre-World War I Land of Israel.

  3. Batya
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 15:06:39

    If you like great detective stories, there’s a great one with interconnected characters by Michael Connelly, the Harry Bosch novels. Start from the first and you have books to read for quite a while.

  4. Lena
    Jun 26, 2009 @ 16:11:56

    Have you read Herman Wouk’s “Winds of War” or “War & Remembrance”? Great choices to curl up with, along with chocolate or hot chocolate or something like that.

  5. westbankmama
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 07:25:12

    Thanks everybody for the recommendations. I went to Tzomet Sefarim with westbankpapa and I filled in a bunch of mysteries that I was missing (I hate reading things out of sequence when I find a good series). I also found a book called The Story of Edgar Sawtelle by David Wroblewski which looks very good.

  6. Andrea Sisco
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 21:35:25

    Of course I would recommend my new humorous mystery A Deadly Habit by Andrea Sisco. I’m laughing. But Kirkus and Booklist compared me to Janet Evanovich and I’ll take that as a compliment.

    I so enjoy your blog. I live in Minnesota and Arizona in the United States and look forward to reading it. It gives me some perspective.

Leave a Reply

