You Go Girls!

When I turned 12 I refused to have a Bat Mitzvah, even though my parents offerred me one. I was petrified of speaking in public (still am!), so I opted out of a ceremony. I think I made the right decision, as it turns out that the Yom Kippur War started just two days later. It would have been weird to celebrate while a war was going on, even one thousands of miles away.

The New York Times has an article about a group of ninety-something women finally having their Bat Mitzvot. Although written a tad condescendingly (suggesting that the women were concerned about the overall lenght of the ceremony because of weak bladders was in poor taste) on the whole the article is upbeat.

If you want to read some other great stuff, go on over to What War Zone and see this week’s Havel-Havalim….I have to completely agree with Benji about Bank Looney – Yiyhe B’Seder my foot!

And last but not least, check out this month’s Kosher Cooking Carnival…..

Leave a Reply

