So Much Tragedy

During the height of the terrorist bombings a few years ago, we all mourned when we heard about innocent people being killed, but certain stories just completely broke your heart.

A bride killed on the eve of her wedding by a suicide bomber was one particularly harrowing story. I remember one friend who said that it just couldn’t get any worse than that.

Then Tali Hatuel, nine months pregnant, was gunned down by terrorist along with her four young daughters. David Hatuel’s family was completely devastated.

Today I heard about a soldier who is critically wounded, who left the war for just enough time to get married. My son came home from his yeshiva (he is in 7th grade now) and told me that this soldier was his Rosh Yeshiva’s son.

I know I should feel the same about every soldier who dies fighting for us, but this story just breaks my heart. Too close for comfort – even if it happens to the son of an “acquaintance”.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rickismom
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 22:26:48

    Tears at the feet of G-d….

  2. westbankmama
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 03:46:02

    For those of you who hate Israel: Yes, I am deleting your posts. This isn’t a democracy, this is my blog. Go somewhere else to spew your hate.

Leave a Reply

