Is That Kosher?

We are in the process of finding a yeshiva for my eighth grader for next year, so we have made the rounds of “parent’s evenings”.

One such parent evening was in Efrat (we are looking at Neve Shmuel). We thought there would be a lot of traffic, so we left our yishuv very early, and we ended up getting there a good 45 minutes too soon. So we checked out the local eateries, and decided on the pizza shop nearby.

My son, who is in the teenager, I am always hungry stage, finished his pizza and started eyeing the variety of ice creams in the freezer case. He noticed the Ben and Jerry’s, and wanted to buy some, but we didn’t have time at that point. I promised him that when he came for the open Shabbat (they invite the kids who are not from Gush Etzion for Shabbat, and then on Sunday anyone who wants to apply does the admission tests). I would give him money to pop over and buy some.

So this past Friday, as he was packing up his stuff, he asked me for some money.

“You remember, Ima, you said that I could have some money to eat the Tom and Jerrys”.

At first I was completely confused, and then of course I burst out laughing, explaining that it was called Ben and Jerrys.

Just a little “revenge” for the times that my kids have kidded me for not really “getting” an Israeli slang expression. (I told him I would be writing about this on the blog. His one request – don’t use my name!)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 17:03:09

    Tom and Jerrys- Did he want mouse or cat flavor. 😉

  2. zahava
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 15:55:39

    You were in Efrat and didn’t call?! Boo hoo!

  3. Batya
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 03:50:29

    ahh the quirks of being multi-lingual
    I’m searching for Hagendaz mint chip… no, b&g just isn’t the same.

  4. westbankmama
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 15:55:13

    Jack – ewwwwwwwww

    Zahava – sorry, we were a bit busy. This looking for yeshivot (which we will need to do again next year for son number 3), is tiring…

    Batya – my all time favorite is Hagendaz coffee….

Leave a Reply

