Have You Prayed For Rain Today?

I grew up in Upstate New York, where we received more than our fair share of rain and snow. So the idea of having to pray for rain was really new to me, and I didn’t understand the significance until I moved to Israel.

As a matter of fact, the first winter we lived here was an extremely rainy one, after many years of drought. (1991-92) Most of the Israelis were thrilled that it rained practically every day. I was less so.

My oldest was a rambunctious two year old, and we lived in the mercaz klita (absorption center). Our apartment was 48 square meters, and there were no real areas for a little one to play indoors. And since it rained all of the time, he was pretty frustrated being cooped up. Neither one of us was a happy camper. So, that year at least, I still didn’t understand the significance of praying for rain.

Last year we had such a mild winter that I didn’t even notice until the end that my dryer was broken. (I hang up my clothes outside if the weather permits, and only use it if it rains a few days in a row).

After going up north this past summer, and seeing first-hand how depleted the Kinneret is, I decided to be proactive.

I decided that I will sincerely pray for rain this year (I am adding it, bli neder, to my private prayers at Shma Kolenu). I plan to buy a new dryer as soon as I can to make sure that I am really sincere!

I plan to remind my Israeli readers to pray with me – we really need the rain this winter! A quick “mashiv haruach” is not enough! (This is the short, seasonal addition to the 18 Benedictions that Orthodox Jews pray three times a day that mentions G-d’s role in bringing the rain).

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rickismom
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 21:49:58

    Ah, an important reminder!

  2. ilanadavita
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 20:12:45

    This is the short, seasonal addition to the 18 Benedictions that Orthodox Jews pray three times a day that mentions G-d’s role in bringing the rain.
    May I suggest that the term Orthodox Jew is a bit limiting. I am not an Orthodox Jew stricto sensu but still say the Amidah and make sure I don’t forget to add the prayer for rain at the right time.
    Hope you had a beautiful month of Tishrei.

  3. Baila
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 07:59:29

    When we visited the Kinneret this summer, I actually felt fear at how much the water had receded from the shore.

    May our prayers be answered.

Leave a Reply

