Know What’s Happening Today?

A lot of things are happening today.

In Israel the Kadima party is having their primary elections.

In America the campaigning for the presidential election is going full swing, and the government just bailed out A.I.G.

But the most important thing happening, in my humble opinion, is going on in my kitchen. Today I am making my challot for the upcoming holidays.

I don’t believe in using the Magimix for challah – to me it is cheating. I like mixing it up in a bowl, with a wooden spoon, and then turning it out onto the marble countertop to knead. Since I only make challah once a year, I make a large enough recipe so that I can make the bracha (blessing) on taking challah.

This year I am making a “half and half” recipe – half white flour and half whole wheat. I haven’t made this recipe in quite awhile so I hope it comes out well….

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raizy
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 12:14:59

    How do you make challahs so much in advance? Do you freeze them?

  2. soccer dad
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 15:21:14

    I cheat. I use the bread machine.

    However I noticed something interesting in America. They have “Better for bread” flour, which really makes a better tasting Challah (or bread) than regular flour. Well guess what: it’s a mixture of wheat and barley flour. In the Gemora barley flour is considered a lesser flour, but at least in a mixture with wheat flour, it really makes a better bread.

  3. ilanadavita
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 15:51:34

    What about posting your recipe?

  4. aliyah06
    Sep 17, 2008 @ 16:29:45

    You only make challah ONCE A YEAR?!!

    How do you make an entire year’s worth of challah in one sitting?! I’m VERY impressed.

    I REALLY cheat–I buy it. I HAD to make it in the Old Country, since we couldn’t buy kosher challah……so buying it now is always a heartwarming luxury.

  5. aliyah06
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 04:38:37

    BTW, this is the morning of the 18th as I write this….Happy Birthday!

  6. Jameel @ The Muqata
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 12:42:38

    Happy Birthday!!!

    Many many more!

  7. westbankmama
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 13:01:12

    Raizy – yes, I do freeze them, but I have learned to make a bunch of rolls too because the kids beg me to taste the challahs as soon as they are done!

    soccerdad – that really IS cheating!

    ilaanadavita – well, now that I have tasted it and it really is good I just may do that!

    aliyah06 – I make challah by hand once a year for Rosh HaShana, and the rest of the year it is store bought all the way….and thanks for the birthday wish, although I do celebrate it on the Hebrew date – 8th of Tishri

    jameel – thanks!

  8. batya
    Sep 19, 2008 @ 03:34:29

    I haven’t baked challot for years. Maybe if my baby will stay with us for the holiday, he was my last challah-baker. Please post the recipe and send it to KCC.

Leave a Reply

