You Don’t Have To Scream…

Everyone has their special food that they only really like homemade. For me it is ice cream (unless I want to pay an arm and a leg for imported Haagen Dazs, that is).

So every summer I get out the old ice cream maker out of storage and I put it to good use. Here is my recipe for chocolate ice cream.

4 1/2 cups half-and-half (in Israel I just split it into 2 cups cream, 2 1/2 cups milk)

1 1/2 cups sugar

6 egg yolks, beaten well

1 1/2 cups cream

1/2 cup cocoa

Beat the egg yolks well. In heavy medium saucepan, combine half-and-half, sugar, cocoa, and beaten egg  yolks. Cook and stir over low heat until the mixture thickens slightly and coats the back of a metal spoon.  Cool to room temperature. Stir in whipping cream. Follow the manufacturers directions for your specific ice cream maker. Makes 3 quarts.

Speaking of recipes, I am hosting this month’s Kosher Cooking Carnival. Send your recipes on to me at westbankmama at fastmail dot fm.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Kosher Cooking Coming Right Up « West Bank Mama

Leave a Reply

