How Many Jews Have Backaches Today?

This time of year is rough. Even with three kids helping out (and they are old enough to really help, finally) my back hurts from all of the heavy cleaning. I still have a portion of the kitchen to finish by tomorrow night’s deadline (Tuesday night all clean, Wednesday night kasher and get out all of the dishes, Thursday morning start to cook) and the rest of the house looks awful.

Then there is the laundry to do before the holiday. And the haircuts to do before the holiday. And the special preparations for the seder night that we must do this year before Shabbat (did you know that you have to prepare the salt water and wash the lettuce for maror by Friday afternoon?).

My favorite time in Pesach is when I can sit down at the seder table (seconded only by the first matza and butter, which comes late afternoon of the first day of chag). Then I know that all of my work has been done, and I have the rest of the week to enjoy the family.

I hope all of my Jewish readers have a healthy, happy, and kosher Passover, and that your back doesn’t hurt too much…..

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ilanadavita
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 19:32:36

    Funny, you should mention it but I strained a muscle in my back last night. I’m not sure how I did this but cleaning the oven and the microwave today was really painful.

  2. RR
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 10:41:24

    My back isn’t too bad, but my right arm and shoulder are pretty sore- all that scrubbing!

    Ooh, I hear you on the matza and butter. Matza with cream cheese and jelly is also yummy.

  3. mother in israel
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 15:38:57

    You forgot the end of the first day when we recall that we are out of bondage and don’t have to prepare a second seder.

  4. ilanadavita
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 07:10:26

    Chag Kosher V’Sameach to you and your family!

  5. Batya
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 18:41:39

    It’s almost the end of Pesach, and I’m tired, hungry (long story) and hope to eat soon.

  6. Trackback: We don’t even remember. . .

Leave a Reply

