The Oldest Line In The Book

I had some errands to do in Petach Tikvah yesterday afternoon. I was pleasantly surprised at the organization of Bituach Leumi – the people in security on the ground floor asked me what I needed to do. When I told them, they told me which room to go to, and even gave me a number. All I had to do was find the room, wait my turn (about 10 minutes), and explain to the lady what I needed. She produced a form, I signed it, she made a copy and I was out the door. All in all it took me twenty minutes to do what I had anticipated would take an hour, so I had a bit of free time. I then decided to go to the used book store that I sometimes frequent to get some English paperbacks.

I arrived at the store at about 3:55, and I had to wait for five minutes until it opened. I decided to sit on a bench across the street. Some Breslavor chassidim came around asking for tzedakah (charity) so I opened my wallet and gave them a few shekels.

“Oh, that is SO nice of you” a man sitting on the next bench said. He then came over to stand in front of me, and basically tried to pick me up.

Yes, you read correctly – westbankmama had a guy make a pass at her for the first time in about….uh….twenty one years??????

He looked at my head covering and said, “Oh, you are married. If you weren’t I would start up with you!” (which he then started to do anyway….)

He then posed a question which made me think I was on candid camera.

He asked me what my sign was! (Do people still do that nowadays????)

I was so taken aback that I just stared at him. He interpreted this as meaning that I didn’t understand the question, so he started to explain about birthdays and astrological signs, etc. I kept thinking that someone was pulling my leg, but after a few minutes I realized that this guy was just plain weird. He continued his one way conversation for the next few minutes, until I saw my chance to escape.

As I stood up to go into the bookstore (thank G-d the woman who runs it came to open it on time) he asked me if I would take his phone number, “in case you think of a good shidduch for me”. Needless to say I declined.

After relating the story to westbankpapa he had an interesting question. He asked me, “now do you feel young again?” referring to one of my previous posts.

It forced me to think about the encounter and my reaction to it. On the whole I found it an unpleasant experience. In addition to religious reasons, I wear modest clothing and cover my hair with a hat or beret or a scarf, and specifically not with a wig, so that men (at least in Israel) will have a visual cue that I am married, and I will be spared this type of encounter.

But I do have to admit that it made me feel young. G-d definitely works in strange ways.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rafi G
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 09:17:23

    that’s a funny story! good for you!

  2. Superraizy
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 16:34:49

    Maybe you need to change your name to West Bank Hot Mama (-:

  3. Jack
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 05:33:42

    Take it as a positive experience.

  4. ilanadavita
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 18:10:28

    Nice story. It certainly made me smile. I do feel a bit on the old side myself so I understand how you felt!

  5. bec
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 08:48:41

    west bank mama: breakin’ hearts all over eretz yisrael….

    you go, girlfriend!

  6. Sanna/Modesty Girl
    Apr 04, 2008 @ 19:09:29

    That’s a funny story 😛
    I’ve just started a blog on modest dress, I’d like to include your site, if I may?

    Love
    Sanna.

  7. Batya
    Apr 07, 2008 @ 04:04:59

    I love that story.

Leave a Reply

