Between the Raindrops

There is an expression in Hebrew (slang?) which translates into “between the raindrops”. This means that someone is very lucky and misses disaster by a slight margin.

Baruch Hashem our Bar Mitzvah went well – and we literally walked between the raindrops. Last Thursday it rained all day, on Friday it rained a little bit during the day. In the evening it was clear, during the night it rained again, and on Shabbat itself it was beautiful. So the one great worry I had, over which I had absolutely no control, was the weather, and it cooperated.

There were a few minor glitches, but nothing that couldn’t be worked out. My family was nice and didn’t make any negative comments (perhaps they read my blog?……), and I actually enjoyed myself after I lit candles and figuratively passed the baton to the people I had hired to do the waitressing for Shabbat. The woman who had the reputation for a “rosh gadol” (literally “large head” – meaning that she takes responsibility and uses her head if there is a problem) was excellent and really did take care of problems as they came up.

Now all I have to do is figure out what to do with the leftovers. There isn’t that much time to Pesach.

And for those of you who are wondering – yes, I am enjoying my chocolate. Especially the stuff I got from a friend (thanks Faith). Have you ever seen chocolate in a plastic syringe? That’s what she handed me after shul on Shabbat!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tnspr569
    Feb 18, 2008 @ 18:00:10

    Glad to hear everything went well. Might I ask why the chocolate was in such a device?

  2. Jack
    Feb 18, 2008 @ 20:05:17

    Mazal Tov.

  3. Jameel @ TheMuqata
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 07:27:33

    Mazal tov!

  4. Rafi G
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 07:37:26

    chocolate in a syringe? seems strange.. what is the benefit?

    mazel tov!

  5. ba
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 15:03:24

    chocolate in a syringe…just what the doctor ordered.

  6. Batya
    Feb 19, 2008 @ 20:48:57

    MAZAL TOV!

    Years ago during my 13 year job as girls gym teacher, I didn’t have any place to teach when it rained. There isn’t much you can do in a crowded caravan. So G-d was good to us, must like PE, and it conveniently only rained as the last lesson ended.

  7. westbankmama
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 07:23:26

    Thank you all for your good wishes. I think it is very telling that the men are puzzled by the chocolate in the syringe joke gift, where the women understand perfectly.

    I guess it is a “girl thang”.

  8. Ben-David
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 10:39:24

    Regular readers should know that, despite her modesty, WBMama is entirely responsible for the success of our Bar Mitzvah – if her “little notebook” had gone missing, we would have been sunk. I am forever grateful to have married a woman with such great organizational skills. If it were up to me – everyone would have been eating store-bought hummus on crackers.

    We both love to make our parties here in our village rather than going to a hall or hotel – the cameraderie and help extended only add to the occassion.

    – WestBankPapa

  9. mother in israel
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 16:23:25

    Mazal tov (I don’t get the syringe thing either).

  10. Shira Salamone
    Feb 22, 2008 @ 01:18:53

    Mazal tov! And “mainlining” chocolate sounds good to me, too. 🙂

  11. Avi
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 01:45:41

    Just a word about the expression in Hebrew “walk between the raindrops” (lehalech bein hatipot)…
    I thought its presentation here was slightly wide of the mark. I’d say the expression pertains to a situation whereby someone is delicately maneuvering themselves between multiple obstacles, threats or difficulties, emerging unscathed. Which would correspond to someone walking in the rain but maneuvering themselves between the raindrops such that they are always between drops, thus managing to emerge completely dry.
    I wouldn’t say it’s actually Slang, rather colloquial, perhaps. Thogh coming to think of it, it is one of those rare expressions that sound good both in “elevated” and colloquial Hebrew.

Leave a Reply

