Location, Location, Location

There have been a lot of reactions to the killing of two Jews last Friday afternoon near Hebron by Arab terrorists.

 Many things have been written in the regular Israeli media and in the blogosphere, and some are frankly infuriating. What may come as a surprise to some of my readers, though, is what I personally find more upsetting.

Treppenwitz writes about his reaction to an article in Haaretz, where he expresses his feelings about the author’s “interesting” idea. The writer expresses happiness that the terrorists have been caught, so that now there won’t be a violent reaction by the settlers (beating the dead horse of the “Jewish underground” again.)

Jameel writes a post  (don’t miss the video) expressing his feelings about Rabbi Maryle’s blog post about the terrorist attack, and takes exception to the blaming of the victims.

Which original piece makes me annoyed – and which makes me absolutely furious? The one written by an Israeli left winger who thinks every settler is a terrorist just waiting for the right opportunity, or the one written by an American Jew who is sympathetic to the settlers but thinks we sometimes take too many risks?

Have you guessed yet? I’ll give you a hint – think of the phrase “location, location, location”.

The Israeli left wing, and especially those who write for Haaretz, annoy me to no end, and I think they are 100% wrong on many points. But you know what, they live here. With me. In the same country. When a terrorist blows himself up on a public bus, he has the potential to kill both of us, if we find ourselves sitting next to each other. So although I disagree with him and he drives me nuts – he has the right to his opinion.

This Rabbi (who I never heard of before) is probably a nice guy, and I probably agree with him in many areas, both religiously and politically. But he lives thousands of miles away in galus (the Diaspora). He really doesn’t know his marpek from his tussik when it comes to living in Israel or living in a yishuv, and I think he should keep his opinions to himself.

Pack your bags, Rabbi Maryles, get on a plane, and come live in Israel. Then you can give me all of the mussar you want.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tnspr569
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 19:34:37

    Well stated.

  2. treppenwitz
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 05:59:24

    Westbank Mama… I agree with almost all of your points except the part about you and the Haaretz writer having an equal chance of being blown up by a terrorist. This is silly. The writer is much more vulnerable than you. Think about it for a moment… who is taking the bigger risk, a person who is sitting minding his/her own business on the bus, or a person who is hugging the terrorist and trying desperately to empathize with the bomber’s humilation and suffering? I rest my case.

  3. Shlomo
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 00:12:27

    In all fairness, the rabbi has kids and family living in Israel. And many people who do live in Israel, myself included, agree with what he says.

Leave a Reply

