Right in Front of Our Noses

During Chanukah we watched quite a few movies (DVD’s that is). One, which has turned into a favorite, is Cars. At one point in the movie, when Sally is trying to describe why she left the big city to move to a tiny little town, she says that she “fell in love” – not with a person, but with the spectacular view. The camera shows a view of the rolling desert in the distance.

 My son turned to me and said, “Ima, that’s like what we have out of our window”. We don’t live in the desert – the surrounding countryside is hilly and has its share of olive trees – but I understood what he meant. He was a bit perplexed though. He didn’t understand what was so special about having such a beautiful view. I explained to him that people who grow up surrounded by cement sidewalks and streetlights and concrete buildings appreciate the beauty of nature more than people who have it right outside their window.

Which of course is a lesson in more ways than one.

The other day I started to have a bit of a panic attack about my son’s Bar Mitzvah coming up (Less than two months to go….). We are not making anything fancy, but there still is a lot to do and a million little details to work out. I had to force myself to take a step back and look at it from another perspective.

First of all, the small details don’t really matter in the long run. Second, I thought about how lucky I am to have this project in the first place. I could be single at the age of 46 (I know a few ladies who are even older than I am and not married). I could be childless (unfortunately I know of more than one couple in this painful situation too). I could be in such financial difficulties that I wouldn’t have any choices at all about what to do to celebrate this milestone.

I rarely think about how lucky I am – which is a shame. Sometimes it takes someone else looking at the world from a new perspective to remind you to do the same.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erica
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 18:59:16

    “…people who grow up surrounded by cement sidewalks and streetlights and concrete buildings appreciate the beauty of nature more than people who have it right outside their window.”

    That is SO true. Which is why I love sojourns down South, and along rural roads, with such different kinds of people and places from what I’m used to so much. Experiences such as those I liken to little treasures.

    🙂

  2. tnspr569
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 21:53:36

    So true about the views, and I’ve grown up almost exclusively in suburban neighborhoods. The very first time I looked around the Shomron, the view took my breath away, and it still never fails to do so.

    Cars is such a great movie! It’s one of my favorites, too!

  3. bec
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 22:08:16

    to paraphrase rabbi nachman, “you are alive. let’s start from there. why don’t you dance for one week just because you are alive?”
    wbmama, you have soooo many amazing things to dance about!!!!!!!!
    mazel tov & hatzlacha on all of the bar mitzvah planning!

  4. Jack
    Dec 18, 2007 @ 05:31:42

    I could be single at the age of 46

    I can’t imagine being so wise, seeing as I am only 20. 😉

  5. westbankmama
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 08:18:18

    Erica – but then again, you always sound like you really love New York. Maybe you appreciate the good things about the country and the city.

    tnspr569 – yes, this movie has turned into a realy family favorite

    bec – thanks, and as they say in Hebrew, “brucha tiheyee”, which means, G-d willing, you will be in the same situation soon (although I think you have a decade, no?)

    Jack – ooh, another dig at my age!

Leave a Reply

