Go Ahead and Laugh

Seraphic Secret linked up to a great video put up by Mere Rhetoric, about Achmed, the Dead Terrorist

Seraphic Secret correctly points out that Hitler was most infuriated by Charlie Chaplin’s spoof of him (the Great Dictator). Laughing at someone you fear puts them in perspective. He may still be able to hurt you, but it reduces the terror and gives you the confidence to fight back.

My kids have a few little ditties that they sing occasionally about terrorists. They usually don’t sing them around me (when they know I can hear them, that is) – because we outlaw ethnic jokes in our house, and even though I don’t mind it if they use the word “mechabel” (terrorist in Hebrew), they know that using the word “Aravi” (Arab) is not allowed.

Perhaps I will ask them to sing them for me and I will pass it along in another post. Meanwhile, enjoy the video clip.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ezzie
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 18:09:50

    So funny – I just read a great quote by Alan Alda yesterday about the importance of laughter – when people are laughing, they’re generally not killing one another. It’s a slightly different tack, but this post made me think of it.

  2. westbankmama
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 13:35:16

    “too busy to kill” – sounds good to me, sort of…

Leave a Reply

