I Should Be Sleeping

It’s almost 12:00 midnight and I am rather tired, and I would love to be in my bed right now. But I’m not, becuase being vertical seems to be more comfortable than being horizontal.

 I am having a mild allergic reaction to some sort of pollen outside – and it has affected my breathing. This happens every year during the heavy pollen season in the spring (between Passover and Shavuot) – where I sometimes wake up at night and find it hard to breathe. For the past year or two I find it happens on Sukkot – when I am out in the Succah during the time between dusk and early evening. Yesterday I avoided the Sukkah all day (being female and exempt from having to eat in the Sukkah definitely has its advantages) and my breathing was fine.

Today we had guests  – originally scheduled to come at 1:00 pm and stay the afternoon, and leave before dark (they prefer to drive in my area during the daylight hours). Unforseen circumstances forced to them to delay their arrival until about 3:30, so they stayed longer than planned and decided to “brave” driving after dark. This meant that I was obligated to stay in the Sukkah with them until about 6:30. At some point I started to feel a tightness in my chest, but I ignored it.

The shortness of breath has continued even after coming inside, putting on the air conditioner, and trying my best to distract myself. Every time I try to go to sleep I find it too difficult to breathe, and sitting up is much more comfortable. So here I am – reading blogs and writing a boring post!

I must say that this temporary condition has taught me to admire people with chronic medical conditions. I have a friend with chronic asthma who tries not to take any medications (she goes to a holistic practitioner that gives her a shot every few months, but that’s it). She says that she tries her best to relax and “let her body do what it needs to do to get better”. I too am avoiding medicine for this – but for me it happens once in a while (even in the spring it does not happen every night). Kol HaKavod to people who suffer from this all of the time.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erica
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 02:10:21

    I am a chronic asthmatic, whose asthma, keyn ayin hara, is under control. My heart truly pains for you and your discomfort, because I know exactly what you are going through…there’s no way to get comfortable laying down because you feel as though you are asphyxiating yourself.

    Everyone’s body is different, so I wish I could suggest you ‘do this’ and ‘do that’, but it might not necessarily be the right solution to your particular allergy.

    After half of my teen and adult years spent constantly puffing on an albuterol pump, my doctor prescribed me the Advair discus, to use only once per day, and after daily use, magically my asthma, keyn ayin hara, went away. It’s not to say I could jog around the block without getting winded, but it’s a real mechiyeh to not have to rely on a pump all the time.

    I do hope yours goes away quickly — refuah sheleimah to you, and a continued chag sameach.

  2. westbankmama
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 06:44:42

    Erica – thanks for the support! Asthma runs in the family, so I truly feel lucky that this happens to me only once in a while.

  3. aliyah06
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 13:46:12

    My son has allergies this time of year also….and guests or not, I tell folks “we’re going inside” because of the allergies and most people are very understanding. We have a dog and two cats and I reciprocate–when we have cat-allergic guests, we eat on the mirpesset and the cats are locked in a back bedroom to minimize contact….don’t hesitate, when suffering from something like this, to tell people you can’t stay outside any longer. They’ll understand!

  4. westbankmama
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 13:36:20

    aliyah06 – I guess you are right, I should have excused myself!

  5. Trackback: How Big Will the Health/Disease Management… — Pharmacy medicine shop

Leave a Reply

