Yes, I’m Alive!

I really must apologize. I personally hate it when bloggers stop writing suddenly, without an explanation.  And here I did the same thing!

 Our computer died suddenly at the beginning of June. It took us a while to  get the money together to buy a new one, and then we were in the beginning of summer vacation. Since this is the first year that I am working out of the house and have one teenager and two pre-teens at home, I had  lot of reservations about letting them have internet access without my being around to supervise. This fear was exacerbated after we heard a lecture in our yishuv about the dangers of internet addiction – by kids. I also had a bit of guilt feelings about the shorter amount of time spent with the kids in general – and I know how much I love blogging and how it took me away from them.

Bottom line is that we decided to go off internet cold turkey – for the summer, at least. I have to admit I miss my blogger friends – but at the same time I am so much calmer not reading the news!!!!

I decided to post now for two reasons. One, I met Bec and Adam in Maaleh Adumim. I had to be there to take care of my elderly father (who lives there with my brother), so we had a chance to meet for pizza. Yes, she is exactly how she blogs – funny and wonderful, and the kids are very cute. 

Then my husband received an email from someone on my yishuv. It turns out that Baka Diary (aliyah06) was really worried about me, and she did some digging and found another English speaker in Peduel and wrote her an email asking if she knew who I was and if I was ok!

I am really touched guys. Baruch Hashem everyone is fine, work is busy, and we are seriously thinking about what to do about the internet. We may go back in the beginning of September – because I know that the kids will need it once in a while for school homework. I also think that if I blog once or twice a week, instead of every day, it won’t take me away from my kids too much.

In any case, regards to everyone. See you in September (I hope)!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aliyah06
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 09:25:17

    We’re ALL Very Happy to hear from you—and I’m looking forward to September! (If I took my kid off the Internet, he’d go nuts–I think I should’ve gone cold-turkey a few years ago….)Have a GREAT summer!

  2. Jack
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 02:25:46

    Glad to hear that all is well.

  3. BA
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 14:22:27

    I think your entire readership was worried. so glad to see you are well.

  4. snoopythegoon
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 17:51:59

    Good, I came by to ask precisely the question you have answered (nah, not really), anyway I totally agree that bloggers should never stop or even interrupt their flow.

    best

  5. ann
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 23:10:14

    I have lurked at your blog… I’ve always
    found it interesting, but never commented

    I just returned to London from Ha’aretz and
    since being caught up with my son’s wedding
    in Israel and staying with my other son and
    his babies in the Gush, I have had little
    time for blogging… and I feel so much better
    for it

    Our families and our real life come first…
    blogging is a luxury I intend to indulge in
    when I have the time and the inclination

    I shall still come by and read your pearls of
    wisdom when you do have the chance to grace us
    with your words

    col tuv ann

  6. muse
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 17:26:17

    This summer when I visited the states, I didn’t feel desparate to blog. I had a few opportunities, which were fine.
    It’s good to push it aside for periods of time.

  7. Verodim
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 09:43:04

    BS”D

    It’s nice to see you here again, I really miss your posts! Have a beautiful summer with your family!

  8. PP
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 12:27:21

    Cold Turkey is always good- I had some for lunch 😉

  9. Ilana-Davita
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 16:56:25

    Glad to see you’re fine. It’s all that matters. Shabbat shalom.

  10. Rafi G
    Aug 12, 2007 @ 09:49:39

    at least you are ok

  11. Ezzie
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 20:18:05

    Glad to see that all is well. 🙂

  12. bec
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 23:13:42

    i’ll call you this week!!!!

Leave a Reply

