They’re Leaving, On A Jet Plane…

A big round of congratulations to Bec and Adam – they have a flight date for making aliyah. Tu B’Av, the fifteenth day of Av (which comes out on July 30th this year) is their date.

I read her post and immediately started to think of the conversation I need to have with my boss.

Boss: Oh, you need some time off to meet a Nefesh B’Nefesh plane? You have family making aliyah, mazel tov!

Me: Uhh, no, they’re not family, just friends.

Boss: Very nice. When did you meet them?

Me: Uhh, well, we’ve never actually met before….

Boss: Huh?

Me: Well, you see, I “met” them through our blogs…

Boss: You keep a blog? Really?

Β SCRATCH THIS SCENARIO. Even though I have come out with my real name, and he could find me if he wants to, I don’t think my boss has any idea that I write a blog – and it is much better that way.

I guess I’ll have to think of another excuse.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ozymandias
    May 08, 2007 @ 06:00:55

    Leave him a link to our blogs and we’ll handle it.

  2. Ezzie
    May 08, 2007 @ 06:06:45

    …unless he reads it already. πŸ™‚

    It took a while, but I finally got over the whole “um yeah, it’s a friend I’ve never met” explanation. Do it enough times, it becomes second nature!

  3. Rafi G
    May 08, 2007 @ 09:39:28

    I would still keep it quiet. Don’t want the boss reading “sensitive” material… I have a few friends here at work who sometimes read my blog, but I woud not publicize it at work, let alone directly to the boss.

  4. EmahS
    May 08, 2007 @ 13:14:37

    tre’ cool, I’ll meet ya there………also to meet bec’s plane, and bec is also my friend whom I’ve never met!! We’ll have to make some signs or something for them!!!

    :)and although I won’t be working then, my real life friends don’t know that I blog either, so even if I tell them that I’m meeting a friend I’ve never met, I would say that I know her from NBN or something. πŸ™‚

  5. muse
    May 09, 2007 @ 03:12:58

    How about:
    I’m on the welcome to Israel committee on my yishuv, and it’s my turn to meet olim chadashim
    ?

  6. bec
    May 09, 2007 @ 04:03:07

    i CANNOT wait!
    and if you need an excuse note, i can write you one or a hall pass, since in my other life i used to be a teacher….
    dear west bank mama’s boss,
    oh, you don’t know who west bank mama is? well, that’s funny since i don’t know her by any other name, but i digress. please excuse her from work today as she will be at ben gurion guiding the planes down the tarmac to their correct parking positions. this is strictly a volunteer position and she is greatly needed. for every plane she successfully guides, several hundred olim make israel that much better.
    thanks,
    bec

  7. Ilana-Davita
    May 09, 2007 @ 05:27:42

    I wouldn’t mention my blog but I might mention “meeting on the net”. After all you can also meet people on forums (I have).

  8. westbankmama
    May 09, 2007 @ 14:42:34

    Ozymandias – I’m not sure he even knows what a blog is

    Ezzie – you do this all the time? (meet people from the blogging world?)

    Rafi – I know, it is better to keep your blogging personality and your working personality separate

    emahs – signs are a great idea!

    muse – that is davka a good idea – he may go for that

    bec – ohh, do I get to wear those cool earphones too?

    ilana – I think meeting “on the net” is roughly the same thing

  9. RR
    May 09, 2007 @ 16:21:43

    You could always use the standard Israeli I-have-to-leave-work excuse: “I have a brit to attend!”

  10. Ezzie
    May 09, 2007 @ 22:09:09

    Pretty often. A bunch were already friends, some are now. We just had one for Shabbos again. I’ve met over 75…?

  11. Ezzie
    May 09, 2007 @ 22:10:02

    Pretty often. A bunch were already friends, some are now. We just had one for Shabbos again. I’ve met over 75 bloggers…?

    [Dunno if this comment is going through, sorry if doubled.]

  12. bec
    May 10, 2007 @ 04:16:24

    you also get those very cool glow sticks to wave around. the plus is that you can use them again later at a music festival.

  13. Kirby
    May 11, 2007 @ 03:10:50

    We’re coming on the July 30 flight too! Can we be Webby friends too?

  14. westbankmama
    May 13, 2007 @ 15:26:59

    kirby – of course we can be Webby friends! I just looked at your blog, and I commend you for your courage in sharing. I went through some baby troubles too (nowhere near what you going through, but enough to remember some very painful times) and I hope that you have checked out the scene here in Israel. They are very advanced here, and there are organizations specifically to help Orthodox couples who have trouble conceiving, but there are pitfalls too. Israeli society is very child oriented, and in general Israelis are very nosy, and are not shy about asking very personal questions. I have had people ask me why I am so lazy in not having more kids (three seems to be too small a family for a religious couple) and it never occurs to them that it might not be from choice. I NEVER wear jumpers – because I had one woman ask me if I was pregnant, the day after I suffered a miscarriage. Even now, at the age of 45, when I am finished with my family and able to joke about my past problems, I can’t bring myself to wear a jumper. Good luck, and feel free to contact me by email if you have any questions (although I am a bit out of date).

Leave a Reply

