Just In Time For Sefirat HaOmer

I don’t know if it was intentional, but I think it is very ironic that the JIB Awards are happening during this specific time of year – the time of Sefirat HaOmer. (Those of you who are not familiar with some of the finer points of Judaism may not know that the seven week period between the holidays of Passover and Shavuot is called Sefirat HaOmer, where we count each day. The period between Passover and the 33rd day, called Lag B’Omer, is a time of semi-mourning, because 24,000 students of Rabbi Akiva died during this time. There is a tradition that they died because they did not treat each other well.)

 I watched on the sidelines last year as this Jewish blog competition slowly turned nasty. People who thought the process was unfair, and those who took the competition too seriously, made it somewhat unpleasant. I was glad that I had just started a blog the month before so that I was not involved. This is why I have hesitated until now to mention it and plug it here.

Then I thought of the hard work that the committee put into it, and I came to the conclusion that it was unfair to them to ignore it completely. So go on over to the JIB Awards Blog, take a look, and take part.

But listen to mama, and please play nice!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jerusalem joe
    Apr 18, 2007 @ 04:50:14

    Just wanted you to know that I find the snap popups annoying and quite useless. Why did you put them on your blog?

  2. westbankmama
    Apr 18, 2007 @ 12:54:29

    Jerusalem – I didn’t put them there, they come with the “package”. Since I am not a geek, I have no idea how to get rid of them!

Leave a Reply

