“Duck and Cover” Israeli Style

Do your children do this in their school? I didn’t think mine did, until I read the weekend paper which had a picture of four kids wearing gas masks on the front page. The caption read that there was a national school drill in case of “unconventional war” on Thursday.

I asked my son about it, and he confirmed that it was true. When I asked him what he had to do, he said that he had to crawl under his desk. Then he added that he was a “sadran” – loosely translated as an “usher” or “guide” and his job was to knock on the doors of the various classrooms when it was their turn to go down to the big bomb shelter in the basement area of the school. He added that it would be dangerous for all of the kids to go down at once, so they had to have sadranim to make sure it would be done in an organized way.

When you live in Israel you get used to a lot of things, but I admit that this piece of news made me very angry, and strangely enough, happy too.

I am angry that there are people walking this earth who want nothing better than to kill as many innocent Jews as possible. I am happy that I live in a country that is doing something, both publicly and behind the scenes, to try to hasten these people to the very special place in hell that they deserve.

Someday Israel’s children will only have to do simple fire drills in school.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anonymous
    Mar 17, 2007 @ 18:10:51

    I went to public school growing up and I have memories of doing the same types of drills. They weren’t only for fire. They were also in case someone starting shooting at the school. We practiced for earth quakes as well. Now, I am a teacher in Israel and the drill was for an earthquake, which is why they had to lay down on the floor. They also had to go to the miklatim in case of a person trying to come into the school. I have to say that it isn’t just Jews. How many times have we heard about public or non-Jewish schools being attacked in America. Sometimes the attacks are by children and sometimes by adults but this is why we have these drills. Let’s hope that they will remain drills and we will never be faced with a real scenario.

  2. Yisrael Medad
    Mar 17, 2007 @ 22:41:09

    As a public school student in the U.S. during the 1950s, one of my most vivid memories was this drill of getting under the schooldesk and thinking is it my posterior that will get the full force of the blast? I always was upset that the teachers never followed suit.

  3. bec
    Mar 19, 2007 @ 20:33:06

    i remember once or twice having shelter drills in the eighties, but they seemed to be so ridiculous, as if anyone really believed that we’d really be protected. at least in israel, these drills, if g*d forbid there was an emergency situation, will prepare the kids and will actually help them to survive.

  4. westbankmama
    Mar 20, 2007 @ 06:14:33

    anonymous – do they drill the kids in America today?

    yisrael – why don’t the teachers do the same?

    bec – in Israel the MMD (the special rooms) really do save lives – we saw that last summer. There was a woman in Haifa whose entire apartment was damaged – except for the special room she was in, so it saved her life!

  5. anonymous
    Mar 21, 2007 @ 09:32:34

    I was part of these drills in the ninties. I’m not sure about today but I would think so with all of the school shooting that are going on. Yisael, as a teacher I did get under the desk. In the practice drill that wasn’t good enough and the Vice Prinicpal told me twice that I had to be laying flat on the ground so that’s just what I did in the real drill.

Leave a Reply

