Some Good News For This Rainy Friday Morning

L’Chaim! I read this morning that David Hatuel and his second wife Limor had a baby girl. My readers may remember that I wrote about how his first wife and four little girls were murdered in cold blood by a terrorist who shot them in their car in Gush Katif.

What I didn’t write at that time, because I wanted to protect my annonymity, was that Tali Hatuel was my neighbor’s sister. I remember coming home from an errand and seeing about 15 cars all parked around our house. In Israel this is never a good sign, (the social network in Israel goes into high gear when a tragedy occurs – the Rabbi, the social workers, the close friends and the various yishuv committees descend on the house to counsel the bereaved and to offer practical help) and I was immediately worried. Then I found out about the terrorist attack.

Making a shiva call (visiting the home of the bereaved during the week after a death) was particularly harrowing. Tali’s sister sat shiva in one of the girl’s bedrooms. The drawings on the walls, the school schedule pinned up on the bulletin board, and the school bag on the floor, were all painful reminders of what exactly was lost.

After the shiva we would occasionally see David, who would come for Shabbat to our yishuv. I know that every time I saw him I would secretly wish him all the best in the world, while just giving him a smile and a regular greeting of “Shabbat Shalom”.

Many were inspired by his strength and determination not to let his personal tragedy bring him down. He chose life and happiness, and many of us were delighted to hear that he remarried. Now he has a new baby, and there are thousands of strangers out there who are wishing him mazel tov.

May we hear many more “besorot tovot” (good news).

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bec
    Mar 16, 2007 @ 21:34:25

    mazel tov to david hatuel and his new family. when we first heard about the attack on his family we were shocked to tears here. i’m so glad that he’s able to rebuild his life. he’s an inspiration.
    shabbat shalom!

  2. westbankmama
    Mar 18, 2007 @ 06:24:04

    bec – shavua tov already!

  3. Regina Clare Jane
    Mar 20, 2007 @ 14:39:09

    Thank you for posting about this, WestBankMama… I am so happy and thankful to God that David has been able to find peace and joy again- may his new little baby be a blessing to him…

  4. westbankmama
    Mar 21, 2007 @ 05:18:23

    regina – thank you. I am sure she will be…

Leave a Reply

